Values are set for the year are set as of January 1st To qualify for a Homestead Exemption, a property owner must own and occupy the property as their primary residence as of January 1st
Deadline to pay prior year taxes without penalty and interest. Deadline to file Correction motion under 25.25(d) or 25.25(h) of the tax code
Deadline to render. Owners of business personal property (machinery, equipment, inventory, business vehicles, etc) are required to file a rendition with the county appraisal district listing business personal property. Penalty of 10% of tax bill applies if owner renders late or does not render
April 15th-May 5th
Value notices are typically mailed out in March. Deadline to file a protest for most properties is 30 days after the appraisal district mails a required notice of assessed value or May 15th, whichever is later. The appraisal district is only required to mail a notice of value if the value increased by more than $1,000.
Generally when hearings are held but hearings can start as early as April
Taxing jurisdictions set current year tax rates
Tax bills are issued
Last day to pay current year property taxes in order to claim deduction on that year's federal income tax.
Urban Property Tax LLC | 13201 Northwest Freeway, #800, Houston, Texas 77040 | PO Box 40235 Houston, Texas 77240 | 832-209-8850